Spread the word » Facebook Twitter
Having trouble viewing this email? View it on our website.
The Sikh Coalition Alert
March 9, 2012
  • Update – At 50 Members of Congress! Your Weekend Homework

    March 9, 2012 (Washington, DC) –   The Sikh Coalition is pleased to announce that 50 Members of the U.S. Congress have signed the letter initiated by Representative Joe Crowley (D-NY) in collaboration with the Coalition urging the Justice Department and FBI to track hate crimes against Sikhs.
    Thank you to every person who called or emailed their Member of Congress! We have exceeded our goal, but we want you to do more this weekend.
    Representative Crowley’s office has decided to keep the letter open for Congressional signatures until next Friday because of the strong response from his colleagues.
    This weekend we need you to make copies of our Guide on Calling Your Member of Congress and distribute it in your Gurdwara, Khalsa School, or local community.  By Monday, we want our supporters to resume calling the offices of their Members of Congress.
    Again, please call or email your Member of Congress today and this week:
    -- Call Your Member of Congress
    -- Email Your Member of Congress

    Remember that direct phone calls to your Congressional offices are most effective.  After you make a call, please send an email to the Sikh Coalition letting us know that you have done so.

    Here is a list of offices that have signed the letter initiated by Rep. Joseph Crowley (NY) calling on the FBI to track hate crimes against Sikhs.  If you do not see the name of your elected representative, please make a call today.

    Gary Ackerman (NY)
    Howard Berman (CA)
    Shelley Berkley (NV)
    Earl Blumenaeur (OR)
    Michael Capuano (MA)
    Judy Chu (CA)
    Yvette Clark (NY)
    Hansen Clarke (MI)
    Gerry Connolly (VA)
    Joseph Crowley (NY)
    Lloyd Doggett (TX)
    John Garamendi (CA)
    Luis Gutierrez (IL)
    Barney Frank (MA)
    Alcee Hastings (FL)
    Maurice Hinchey (NY)
    Rush Holt (NJ)
    Mike Honda (CA)
    Ron Kind (WI)
    Jesse Jackson, Jr. (IL)
    Dennis Kucinich (OH)
    John Larson (CT)
    Zoe Lofgren (CA)
    Ben Lujan (NM)
    Dan Lungren (CA)
    Carolyn Maloney (NY)
    Jim McDermott (WA)
    Jerry McNerney (CA)
    Gregory Meeks (NY)
    Jim Moran (VA)
    Richard Neal (MA)
    Eleanor Norton (DC)
    Bill Pascrell (NJ)
    Gary Peters (MI)
    Jared Polis (CO)
    Charles Rangel (NY)
    Steve Rothman (NJ)
    Dutch Ruppersberger (MD)
    Bobby Rush (IL)
    Loretta Sanchez (CA)
    Jan Schakowsky (IL)
    Bobby Scott (VA)
    Jose Serrano (NY)
    Albio Sires (NJ)
    Adam Smith (WA)
    Jackie Speier (CA)
    Pete Stark (CA)
    Edolphus Towns (NY)
    Chris Van Hollen (MD)
    Henry Waxman (CA)


  • Donation Now!
  • Visit our website.
  • Connect with on Facebook
  • Watch our videos
You are receiving this email because was subscribed to our email list. Click here to unsubscribe.